Say the "Obvious Thing"

This limiting belief held me back for years.

I had a call with my Sales Team this morning (SDRs/AEs). Each morning, we have a "kick-off" where we share our progress, blockers, and any ideas that come to mind.

The thing that blocked me personally for many years in my career has been the belief that "obvious things" don't need to be said, communicated about, or discussed.

If you've found yourself saying, "That is so obvious (roll eyes)," you've probably also held this belief.

Here's the thing: Obvious to you does not mean obvious to everyone if there is any level of detail or nuance.

Sure, there will be the "sky is blue" "obvious." Still, beyond this, especially in detailed sales interactions with multiple handoffs and follow-up points (marketing -> SDR -> AE - > CS), the obvious thing may only be obvious because you've deeply experienced or thought about it.

Action Item:

Say the obvious thing. You'll be better for it.

Every time I do, I often find myself surprised by someone's follow-up response, disagreement between team members, and new clarity surfacing the details and nuance of the "obvious" things that were not "so obvious."

In these discussions, we, as a team, learn, grow, and form a tighter understanding of reality together.  

What obvious things have you been withholding or putting to the side that is holding you and your team back?

Much Love,

Benjamin Aaron Reed

Reply

or to participate.